Naugy girls save their best for last


NAUGATUCK — The Naugatuck girls swim team season ended last Wednesday with multiple season-best times. On Sunday, the ‘Hounds celebrated its season filled with ups and downs, and a strong finish.

The season culminated on Sunday with the team’s end-of-the-year banquet. There was plenty to celebrate.
First, Bianca Antrum and Rebecca Doback earned All-Naugatuck Valley League honors. Both competed in the Class L event last week.

Antrum, the team’s top diver, took on the challenge of being a first-year swimmer and advanced to the states. Doback proved to be one of the team’s go-to competitors who swam a season-best time in the 200 free at the Class L meet.

Head coach Jim McKee said he was pleased with the efforts at last week’s Class L state meet.

“Everyone who swam at the states swam their season-best times,” McKee said.

That included the relay events. Doback teamed with Martina Niebrzydowski, Elizabeth Walsh and Amanda Miller in the 200 free.

In the 400 free, the combination of Miller, Barbara Martins, Walsh and Doback struck for their best time of the season. Walsh added a lifetime-best showing in the 500 free.

“The times justify the work,” McKee added to summarize the results.

Erica Spino, Maria Carranza, Madison Wilson and Miller combined to produce a season-best time of 2:12.11 in the 200 medley relay.

After ending the season on a positive note last week, McKee handed out individual awards on Sunday. While the names of the awards are unique, they are emblematic of each swimmer’s improvement and contributions to a long season that begins in the late summertime.

“I was very pleased,” McKee said of the season and the team’s work. “My job is to make them know how to go fast. They had to buy into what we were doing and it worked.”

Award Winning

Whatever it Takes Award: Rachel Doggin.

McKee said Doggin swims year-round and her season-best times at the NVLs were proof.

OK, I’ll Do It Award: Kim O’Brien.

McKee said O’Brien took on difficult events, such as butterfly and backstroke, and did well.

Swam Out of Her Mind Award: Rachel Fox.

Fox improved throughout the season and her times dropped significantly.

Into the Fight Award: Bianca Antrum.

As a new swimmer, Antrum joined the team and contributed almost immediately.

Not Afraid to Die Award: Daisy Walsh.

McKee said Walsh swam hard in every day and was one of the team’s most fierce competitors.

Out of Her Mind Award: Maria Carranza.

Carranza swam impressive times and seemingly surpassed expectations.

Indelible Will Award: Rebecca Doback.

Doback never gave up throughout the season and McKee congratulated her approach.