Little Leagues’ leaders to be honored


NAUGATUCK — The Naugatuck Alumni Association will honor eight members of the Little League community at this year’s 41st annual banquet dinner to be held at the Continental Room on Saturday Sept. 25 at 6 p.m.

From left, Darryl White, Michael Bisson, Alan Terry, Steven Litke, Joe Magnamo, Michael Falcha, Robert Dibble and Richard Neary (superimposed) at the high school.

Naugatuck High School Alumni Association President Terry Swanson made the announcement that Al Terry, Mike Bisson, Darryl White and Steve Litke of the Union City Little League will join Rob Dibble, Mike Falcha, Joe Magnamo and Rich Neary as this years honorees.

The Alumni Association was founded in 1954 and since 1969 has been honoring Naugatuck alumni who have contributed to their schools, communities, state and country at the annual awards dinner.

The purpose of the association is to establish scholarship funds for deserving seniors as well as honoring former Naugatuck graduates for their community service.

Bisson has served as coach, league president and is a current member of the Board of Directors of the Union City Little League. White is a former coach and board member. Litke serves on the board and is a longtime softball coach.

Terry is umpire-in-chief and board member at Union City after serving as coach. He has also gone on to umpire state and regional tournaments along with a National World Series.

“I got involved for the same reason the rest of these guys did,” said Terry, a 1969 Naugatuck High School graduate. “To help my boys come to love the game and the camaraderie that sports can bring. In 1980, when my boys were joining the league, I started out as a coach. When my boys were finally done playing at Union City I stayed on. Thirty years later I’m still here. I didn’t do it to receive any honors. I did it to give back to the community.”

Dibble is the president of the Peter J. Foley Little League. Magnamo and Neary have coached and are members of the league’s board of directors. Falcha, another board member, has also served as an umpire.

“I call these guys the elite eight,” said Kevin Knowles, spokesman for the Alumni Association. “These are the type of men who believe Naugatuck is a great place to raise a family. They are Naugatuck graduates from the 60s, 70s and 80s. They represent the wide range of folks who volunteer countless hours of their time to benefit the youth of Naugatuck. These guys have been volunteering for the past 20 to 30 years. That is the kind of commitment that molds the future of this town.”

To support the scholarship funds of the Naugatuck Alumni Association and purchase tickets for the banquet, contact Association Treasurer Rosemary Garbukas at P.O Box 474, Naugatuck or call Vice President Maryann Reilly at (203) 729-3196 or Secretary Dorothy Knowles at (203) 729-5463.

“As you can well imagine, these eight outstanding gentlemen would be very grateful for your presence and support,” Swanson said.