Martino wins Hop Brook championship


NAUGATUCK — The annual Hop Brook Golf Course Club Championship wrapped up this past weekend.

Ray Martino followed up a 2-under round victory in the semis and captured the championship flight title by defeating Mike Dubroski, 9 and 8, in the 36-hole finals. Dubroski defeated Craig Behun, 4 and 3, in the semifinals.

In the first flight, Rich Brenia won the title for the second straight year. Brenia defeated Gary Stabile, 4 and 3, in the finals, and beat Cory Leonard, 4 and 3, in the semis.

Stabile won a close match over Mike Fleck with a 1-up result in the semis.

Joe Vige won the second flight, 3 and 2, to outlast Nate Deller. In the semis, Vige overcame Mike Klimaszewski, 2 and 1, and Deller topped Bob Stabile by one hole.

In the third flight, Mike Lynch held off Steve Nester, 2 up to take the final. In the semis, Lynch beat Steve Rager, 4 and 3, while Nester overcame Doug Palomino by a 2-up result.

Lynch was the only No. 1 seed to win a bracket.

Final results

Championship Flight


Mike Dubroski defeated Mark Magas, Default

Ray Martino defeated Craig Behun, 4 and 3

36-hole final: Martino defeated Dubroski, 9 and 8

1st Flight


Gary Stabile defeated Mike Fleck, 1 up

Rich Brenia defeated Cory Leonard, 4 and 3

Final: Brenia defeated Stabile, 4 and 3

2nd Flight


Joe Vige defeated Mike Klimaszewski, 2 and 1

Nate Deller defeated Bob Stabile, 1 up

Final: Vige defeated Deller, 3 and 2

3rd Flight


Mike Lynch defeated Steve Rager, 4 and 3

Steve Nester defeated Doug Palomino, 2 up

Final: Lynch defeated Nester, 2 up