Junior golfers win championships


NAUGATUCK — Hop Brook golf pro Bryan Nixon announced the 2017 Junior Club champions following the completion of the junior tournament last week.

The two older groups, ages 15-18 and 12-14, played a nine-hole tournament, while the younger groups, ages 10-11 and 8-10 boys and ages 10-12 girls, played a five-hole tournament.

Colin Sheedy was the 15-18 champion, shooting a winning round of 52. Tyler Nixon finished as runner-up with a 57, and Joshua Tribanas was third with a 68.

Paul Schiavone was the 12-14 champion with a sterling round of 43. Ryan Hunt was the runner-up with a round of 48, and Nate DiMatteo finished third with a strong round of 59.

Mac Starziski was the 10-11 champion, shooting a winning round of 28. The battle for runner-up was close with Connor McColl shooting a 32 to edge out third-place finisher Nate Testone, who shot a 35.

Ty Starziski won the 8-10 championship with Christian Porto finishing second. Lizzy Nixon won the girls division with a round of 35.