Hall of Fame induction date accounced


NAUGATUCK — A date has been set for the 2010 Naugatuck Hall of Fame induction ceremony. The 39th annual awards dinner will be Oct. 16 at the Continental Room, 1006 New Haven Road.

The induction was traditionally held every January but the Hall of Fame committee decided last year to move it to the fall. The change means there is a 21-month gap between the 2009 and 2010 ceremonies.

The criteria for induction, as set by the committee, are as follows: “The recipient of the Naugatuck Hall of Fame award shall be a one-time Naugatuck student or resident who has contributed to or excelled in athletics, male or female, living or dead, be it player, coach, manager, team or individual.”

Last year, the hall welcomed its 38th class, which included Bob Sagendorf, Jr., Tom Burns, Bob Summa, Bob Sullivan, Jr. and Patricia Deitelbaum-Bethin. Almost 300 people, and 39 living members, attended the awards dinner.

The inaugural Hall of Fame class of 1972 featured Pete Foley, Frank “Spec” Shea, Dick Tuckey, Alex “Gimbo” Sullivan and William Stokes. The event has drawn such prominent guest speakers as Mickey Mantle, Bob Cousy, Ralph Kiner, Wade Boggs, Hank Aaron, Geno Auriemma and Jerry Trupiano.

Nomination forms are available at www.naugatuckhalloffame.org. In addition to the new inductees, the committee will honor Dustin Diver, the 31-year-old borough man who was elected Hall of Fame president Dec. 1 then died suddenly four weeks later. Ray Rossi, Sr. has taken over as president.