WRHS Hall of Fame to induct new members

Shane Kingsley was a four-year starter in football and baseball and a two-year starter in basketball at Woodland Regional High School. Kingsley, who graduated in 2006, will be inducted into the WRHS Hall of Fame next week along with former teacher Joan Krantz and the 2001-02 Region 16 Board of Education. –RA ARCHIVE

BEACON FALLS — Three new members soon will be joining the Woodland Regional High School Hall of Fame.

Noted athlete Shane Kingsley, founding teacher Joan Krantz, and the 2001-02 Region 16 Board of Education are the three inductees selected by the WRHS Hall of Fame committee in May. They will be honored at the school’s academic awards night on June 7 at 6:30 p.m.

Kingsley was in his first year of eligibility as a member of the class of 2006. He was a four-year starter in both football and baseball and a two-year starter in basketball. Kingsley earned 10 varsity letters over his career and tallied multiple Naugatuck Valley League and state awards.

He was a two-time All-State baseball player and a one-time All-State football player while earning a combined five All-NVL selections. He helped lead the football team to back-to-back state championships in 2004 and 2005 and was a key cog in the baseball team’s upset run to the 2004 NVL tournament championship, the first title of any kind at Woodland.

Kingsley was picked as the No. 2 athlete in school history in Citizen’s News’ All-Decade section and was also selected to the All-Decade football, basketball, and baseball teams. He played college baseball at Marist College and Eastern Connecticut State University and has since returned to Woodland as an assistant coach in each of the sports he played.

Krantz was a founding faculty member of Woodland who served from 2001 until her retirement in 2009. She helped found the Advanced Placement program at the school, where she taught the AP English Literature course until she retired.

“She helped establish rigorous standards for academic performance,” Woodland principal Arnold Frank said.

The 2001-02 Board of Education helped guide Woodland through its first year of existence after the long process of planning and building the school. Members included Michael Abdalla, Priscilla Cretella, Sheryl Feducia, Michael Krenesky, David Byrne, Marie Delage, Rosemary Marczewski, Robin Wright, George Meder, and Louise Moraniec.

“They provided the support, leadership, and encouragement to develop the complete academic, social, and extracurricular programs at Woodland,” Frank said. “They provided the vision and supported the vision.”

The three inductees were chosen from 10 that made the final ballot.