State primary to decide fate of candidates


Democratic and Republican voters across the state will decide which candidates for multiple state offices will represent their party in November at a primary next week.

The primary is Aug. 14, and the polls are open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. Only registered Republicans and Democrats can vote in the primary. Unaffiliated voters can register with a party in person until 12 p.m. on Aug. 13.

Statewide, the primary ballot features candidates for several of the state’s highest offices.

Republicans running for governor are Mark Boughton, the party’s endorsed candidate, Timothy Herbst, Steve Obsitnik, Bob Stefanowski and David Stemerman.

Democrats running for governor are Ned Lamont, the party’s endorsed candidate, and Joe Ganim.

In the race for lieutenant government are Democrats Susan Bysiewicz (endorsed) and Eva Bermudez Zimmerman. Republicans endorsed Joe Markley for the position, and he is running against Jayme Stevenson and Erin Stewart.

For treasurer, Republicans Thad Gray (endorsed) and Art Linares are running. Democrats Shawn Wooden (endorsed) and Dita Bhargava are running.

In the race for attorney general are Democrats William Tong (endorsed), Paul Doyle and Chris Mattei. Republicans endorsed Sue Hatfield, and she is running against John Shaban.

Republicans will also decide their candidates for U.S. senator between Matthew Corey (endorsed) and Dominic Rapini, and comptroller between Kurt Miller (endorsed) and Mark Greenberg.

Locally, Democrats will determine who will run for the state Senate in the 16th and 17th districts.

In the 16th Senatorial District, which includes all of Prospect, Southington and Wolcott, and parts of Cheshire and Waterbury, Dagmara Scalise received the Democratic endorsement and is running against Vickie Nardello in the primary.

In the 17th Senatorial District, which covers all or parts of Ansonia, Beacon Falls, Bethany, Derby, Hamden, Naugatuck and Woodbridge, Jorge Cabrera received the Democratic endorsement and is running against Sean Grace and Valerie Horsley in the primary.

The following list is the polling locations in Naugatuck, Beacon Falls and Prospect:

Naugatuck: Cross Street School, 120 Cross St. (Ward 1, District 1 & Ward 2, District 2); Andrew Avenue School, 164 Andrew Ave. (Ward 1, District 2 & Ward 1, District 3); Central Avenue School, 28 Central Ave. (Ward 2, District 1); Maple Hill School, 641 Maple Hill Road (Ward 2, District 3); Oak Terrace, 53 Conrad St. (Ward 3, District 1); City Hill Middle School, 441 City Hill St. (Ward 3, District 2); Western Elementary School, 108 Pine St. (Ward 3, District 3).

Beacon Falls: Laurel Ledge School, 30 Highland Ave.

Prospect: Volunteer Fire Department of Prospect, 26 New Haven Road (District 89-1); Community School, 12 Center St. (District 89-2).


  1. Vote Republican across the board. Democraps destroyed Ct.
    Ask Malloy, Blumenthal, Murphy, Etsy,
    Keith Richards sister, Bysiewicz.