Republicans turn to Chatfield for 21st time

Prospect Mayor Robert Chatfield received the Republican Town Committee’s endorsement to run for a 21st consecutive term. –FILE PHOTO

PROSPECT — For the 21st consecutive time, the Republican Town Committee endorsed Robert Chatfield to lead the GOP ticket heading into November.

Chatfield, who has been mayor since 1977 and will turn 74 in August, received the committee’s support for another run at the top spot on Monday night.

In an interview after the nomination, Chatfield said he is running on his record and years of service to Prospect.

“People may not always agree with me, but they can’t disagree that I am dedicated to the town,” Chatfield said.

Chatfield said he was holding his 9-month-old granddaughter when he accepted the nomination.

“This is what it is all about, kids. Some people lose track of that,” Chatfield said.

There will be a couple new Republican names on the ballot for Town Council.

Republicans currently hold five seats on the nine-member council. The committee endorsed incumbents Douglas Merriman, Stanley Pilat and Jeffrey Slapikas for re-election along with Richard Blanc and Megan Patchkofsky. Blanc and Patchkofsky will look to retain the seats currently held by Republicans Thomas Galvin, who is chairman of the council, and Alexander Delelle.

The committee endorsed incumbents Robert Hiscox and Nazih Noujaim for re-election to the Region 16 Board of Education, which oversees schools in Beacon Falls and Prospect.

“The ticket is committed to the continued success of the town of Prospect and Region 16,” said Noujaim, who is also the chairman of the town committee, in a subsequent interview. “We understand the challenges that the towns and cities are facing with the state budget as it is. Under Mayor Bob’s leadership, we continue to work within the constraints and uncertainty of the state budget crisis and other unfunded mandates.  This ticket will ensure this takes place and continues to move Prospect forward and meets the challenges without overburdening the taxpayers.”

Town Clerk M. Carrie Anderson, Town Treasurer David Young and Tax Collector Diane Lauber received the endorsements to run again, as well.

The committee also endorsed the following candidates: Stephanie Lusas-Kolodziej and Shawn Baumann for Board of Assessment Appeals; Alan Havican and Sean Duffany for Planning and Zoning Commission; Gwenn Fischer for Zoning Board of Appeals.

Luke Marshall contributed to this article.