Republican candidates to be chosen in primary


A Republican primary for candidates seeking state office is Aug. 12.

Republican voters will choose who will lead their ticket for several top state offices.

Candidates to run for governor are Thomas Foley and John McKinney. Lieutenant governor candidates are Penny Bacchiochi, Heather Somers, and David Walker. Sharon McLaughlin and Angel Cadena are seeking the nod to run for comptroller.

All Naugatuck polling stations will be open for the primary. Polls are Oak Terrace apartment complex, Cross Street Intermediate School, Central Avenue Preschool, Maple Hill Elementary School, Western Elementary School, Andrew Avenue Elementary School, and City Hill Middle School.

The polling place in Beacon Falls has been moved to the Beacon Falls Senior Center due to the ongoing construction at Laurel Ledge School.

Prospect residents will be able to cast their votes at the Prospect Volunteer Fire Department.

Only registered Republicans can vote in the primary.

Any voter currently registered with a different party will be unable to switch parties because it takes three months to make the change, according to the Secretary of State’s website.

However, unaffiliated voters will be able to register as a Republican through Aug. 11.

Naugatuck and Prospect unaffiliated voters will be able to register at their respective registrar of voters offices on Aug. 11.

Unaffiliated voters in Beacon Falls can register Aug. 11 from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. in the registrar of voters office. Registration can also be done in the town clerk’s office.

Absentee ballots are also available from the town clerk’s offices in each town.