Ordinance subject of town meeting


Editor’s note: The date of the town meeting was changed after this week’s edition went to press. The article in this week’s edition lists the incorrect date for the town meeting. This article reflects the change in date.

BEACON FALLS — A town meeting to vote on the inclusion of Beacon Falls into the newly-formed Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments is Tuesday.

Voters will decide on a new ordinance pertaining to creating and joining the Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments.

The Board of Selectmen will host a public hearing about the ordinance at 7 p.m. on Monday in the Town Hall Assembly Room. A town meeting to vote on the ordinance will take place at 7 p.m. the following night in the same location.

The Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments was formed after the state announced it would consolidate its 14 regional planning agencies, known as the Councils of Governments, by about half.

Beacon Falls, as well as Naugatuck and Prospect, were part of the 13 municipalities that made up the former Council of Governments of the Central Naugatuck Valley. The new Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments will consist of the original 13 municipalities, as well as Ansonia, Derby, Seymour, Shelton, Bristol and Plymouth.