NEF elects new board members


NAUGATUCK — The Naugatuck Education Foundation recently elected five new members to its Board of Directors.

Lisa Oliveira, Cathy Kulmann, Rhonda Lord, Jessica Nichols and Cathie Mauritz were unanimously elected at a board meeting May 21.

Oliveira is a reconciliation specialist with Ion Bank. Kulmann is a counselor at the Naugatuck YMCA and substitute teacher. Lord is a primary care nurse for the VNA Health at Home in Watertown. Nichols is a teacher in the Bridgeport public school system and coach of the NEF-sponsored Odyssey of the Mind problem-solving team. Mauritz is the community development director at the Naugatuck YMCA.

NEF Nominating Committee member Heidi Langlais said in a press release, “all of the nominees were very qualified and great choices. We’re excited to have them join and we’re looking forward to getting them involved with our fundraising events and grant reviews.”

The NEF also accepted the resignation and term expiration of six board members, including founding member and first Chairperson Joan Doback, at the meeting.

“When we started this organization, Joan did a tremendous amount of work to lay the foundation for what we have become. She was the right person at the right time and we’re grateful for all her contributions over the years” said John Pruchnicki, a fellow founding board member, in a press release.

The Naugatuck Education Foundation is a nonprofit organization that raises money and awards grants to teachers for classroom programs that are not funded through the budget.

For more information, visit