Naugatuck Republicans take majority on borough, school boards


By Andreas Yilma, Staff Writer

Naugatuck Burgesses Robert Neth, a Republican, and Fran Dambowsky, a Democrat, talk as they campaign at City Hill Middle School on Tuesday. –ANDREAS YILMA

NAUGATUCK — Republicans on Nov. 2 won the majority on the Board of Mayor and Burgesses and the Board of Education.

Republicans Robert Neth, Jan Mizeski and Michael Bronko, all incumbents, and newcomers Dorothy Neth-Kunin, Meghan Smith and George Mudry were elected burgess.

Democrats Charles Marenghi, Rocky Vitale and Fran Dambowski were re-elected as burgess.

Neth received the most votes, 2,388, of the burgess candidates to earn the deputy mayor title, according to unofficial results reported by the secretary of the state’s office.

“It’s an honor and it’s humbling that the residents of Naugatuck believe in me and what I’ve done,” said Neth in an interview the day after the election.

Neth attributed his victory to hard work.

Republicans now hold six burgess seats — the most one party can hold — giving them a 6-4 majority on the Board of Mayor and Burgesses when counting Mayor N. Warren “Pete” Hess, a Democrat who was unopposed for his fourth term. Democrats previously held a 6-4 majority on the board, including Hess.

All five Republicans running for school board were elected. Incumbents Diana Malone, Jeffrey Litke and Marilyn O’Donnell were re-elected. Newcomers Alicia Makowski and Aaron McCool won seats on the board.

Democrats Ethel Grant, Jason Celozzi and James Scully were re-elected to the school board.

Republicans now hold a 5-4 majority on the school board, which includes Hess, who is a voting member of the board. Democrats previously held a 5-4 majority on the board.

Naugatuck Republican Town Committee Chairman Seth Bronko said he was excited about the party’s big win on Election Day.

“I’m thrilled with the results,” Bronko said. “It was a great night for our Republicans.”

Bronko said it was a great team effort. He attributed the victories to making many calls and knocking on doors.

“I see the voters want change,” Bronko said. “It’s the candidates’ obligation to take that serious.”

“I’m looking forward to our candidates working together and putting their best foot forward for Naugatuck,” Bronko added.

Tax Collector James Goggin, a Democrat, and Town Clerk Michelle Dowling, who was cross endorsed, were re-elected.

Republican Richard O’Donnell and Democrats Raymond Krzyowski and Gary Hughes were elected to the Planning Commission. Republicans Atilla Bordas and Eileen Bronko and Democrat Tom Kiernan won seats on the Zoning Commission.

Democrats Michael Kuczenski, Sally Cyr, Michael Allison and Floyd Traver as well as Republicans Steven Loban, Daniel Renzoni, Seth Bronko and Kristine Pistarelli were elected bailiffs.

Editor’s note: This article was updated to include results reported by the secretary of the state’s office and comments from Robert Neth and Seth Bronko.