COG names executive committee


WATERBURY — Beacon Falls First Selectmen Chris Bielik and Naugatuck Mayor Robert Mezzo have been named at-large members of the Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments’ Executive Committee.

The new 19-town regional planning organization was formed by the state-mandated merger of the Valley Council of Governments and Council of Governments of the Central Naugatuck Valley. Its offices are at 49 Leavenworth St in Waterbury.

The communities of Ansonia, Beacon Falls, Bethlehem, Bristol, Cheshire, Derby, Middlebury, Naugatuck, Oxford, Plymouth, Prospect, Seymour, Shelton, Southbury, Thomaston, Waterbury, Watertown, Wolcott and Woodbury are members of the agency.
The committee is made up of four officers and six at-large members. Waterbury Mayor Neil O’Leary has been named chairman.

The NVCOG will attempt to provide more regional services, including requesting bids for various bulk purchases. It will also collaborate to improve transportation on Interstate 84 and the Route 8 corridor and work with the state to improve the Metro-North Waterbury branch line.