Awards highlight annual YMCA dinner


NAUGATUCK — The Naugatuck YMCA will shine the spotlight on individuals and a business that have supported the organization and community at the YMCA’s Annual Dinner in June.

The annual dinner is June 14 at the Crystal Room, 98 School St. A cocktail hour starts at 5:30 p.m. followed by dinner at 6:45 p.m. and the evening’s program at 7:30 p.m. The cost for the dinner is $50 per person. The RSVP date is June 7. For more information or to RSVP, contact Sherri Beck at 203-729-9622 or

The Fredrick D. Zonino Memorial Volunteer of the Year Award is given annually to an individual whose spirit of volunteerism and unselfish efforts are devoted to the values and mission of the Naugatuck YMCA. This year’s recipient is Kathy McPadden, who is being honored for her commitment and leadership for the YMCA’s fundraising events and annual campaign, a press release stated.

The Robert Whittemore Unsung Hero Award is given to individuals who quietly help behind the scenes to make a beneficial impact on the Naugatuck YMCA and the community. This year’s recipient is Paul Fitzpatrick.

“There are people at the YMCA that we count on to make special things happen. Paul’s efforts help make Naugatuck a great place to live and raise families,” the release stated. “When asked for help, Paul steps up and quietly makes things happen with no other reason than to help the community.”

The Jeffrey Witherwax Community Leadership Award recognizes local businesses and their employees for their support to the Naugatuck YMCA and the community. This year’s recipient is Korey Jarjura and the employees at the Crystal Room, who are being honored for their dedication to the YMCA and many other nonprofit organizations, and providing their services to benefit the greater good of all.

The Mary Elizabeth Mannweiler Employee of the Year Award recognizes the dedication of a YMCA employee. This year’s recipient is Ed Rock.

“Ed’s positive energy and compassionate personality display his dedication to the members and willingness to support all other staff,” the release stated.

The YMCA Member of the Year Award will be given to Mona McKay, who the organization described as a dedicated member.