Local police receive AAA honor


SHELTON, CT AAA Southern New England-CT recently honored 32 law enforcement agencies, including Naugatuck, Beacon Falls and Prospect, for their years without a pedestrian traffic fatality through the end of 2009.

In addition, the Providence-based auto club also honored three area police departments with special plaques citing their outstanding traffic safety education and enforcement programs in their respective communities.

In its first Community Traffic Safety Award Program luncheon at the Courtyard by Marriott, Shelton, AAA representatives presented awards of excellence, commendation and citation to police chiefs or police representatives from the following towns:

Ansonia, Barkhamsted, Beacon Falls, Bethany, Bethel, Branford, Brookfield, Cheshire, Clinton, Colebrook, Danbury, Derby, Easton, Fairfield, Goshen, Greenwich, Guilford, Kent, Litchfield, Madison, Meriden, Middlebury, Milford, Monroe, Morris, Naugatuck, New Canaan, New Fairfield, Newtown, Norfolk, North Branford, North Haven, Norwalk, Orange, Oxford, Plymouth, Prospect, Redding, Ridgefield, Salisbury, Seymour, Shelton, Southbury, Terryville, Thomaston, Torrington, Wallingford, Washington, Watertown, West Haven, Weston, Wilton, Winsted, Winchester, Wolcott, Woodbury, and Woodbridge.